History Of The FIFA World Cup Trophy

History Of The FIFA World Cup Trophy

From the inaugural World Cup championship till 1970, the winners of the World Cup were presented with the Jules Rimet Trophy, originally called the World Cup (or Coupe du Monde, in French). Designed as a solid gold winged figure of Nike, the Greek Goddess of Victory, created by French sculptor Abel Lefleur, in 1946, the cup was renamed after Jules Rimet, the FIFA president credited with establishing the primary tournament.

In 1970, after having won the World Cup three times, Brazil was allowed to maintain the World Cup trophy in its groups' possession permanently in accordance with an early specification for groups to accumulate permanent possession in the event of three WC wins. Nevertheless, the crew truly only maintained possession of the trophy until 1983 - that year, it was stolen from its display box on the Brazilian Football Affiliation in Rio de Janeiro and has by no means since been recovered, believed to have been melted down by its thieves. A German goldsmith created a copy for the affiliation to display, which was donated by Kodak of Brazil. The Cup had been stolen and recovered earlier than - as soon as in 1966, for ransom just earlier than the beginning of that 12 months's World Cup finals in London, however was soon recovered by a dog named Pickles who followed the scent of the trophy to a garden hedge the place the thief had aimed to hide it. Then years later, its prime had stolen by a younger spectator within the midst of the Brazilian workforce's 1970 celebration, but had also been recovered soon after.

With the Brazilian team's entitlement to maintain the original trophy completely, 1970 introduced a new trophy, called the FIFA WC Trophy. FIFA consultants from seven countries evaluated 53 models, and settled upon the design of Italy's Silvio Gazzaniga, whose design was about 14 inches tall, 13 ½ pounds, and made of solid 18 carat gold as a sculpture of two athletic figures rising in victory, arms stretched out with the earth hoisted above them. Engraved on the bottom of the trophy are the years and names of every FIFA World Cup winner since 1974. In 2042, when the name plaque of the present trophy becomes full - with only sufficient capability for the names of the 17 winners from the 1974-1938 World Cups - the trophy might be retired completely to the FIFA headquarters, and a new trophy will probably be introduced.

The winning nation enjoys possession of the sports award until the following year's championship, when it is going to be passed alongside to the new champions. After giving up possession of the unique solid gold trophy, fifaqualifiers nevertheless, the winning crew receives a gold-plated duplicate to keep. Before 1978, the eleven players who were on the pitch on the finish of the ultimate and third place match additionally received medals. Now each year's top three groups' players and coaches obtain gold (for winners), silver (for runners-up), and bronze (for 3rd place) medals with a WC Trophy insignia. In 2007, FIFA introduced that the successful World Cup workforce members from 1930-1974 would even be granted medals retroactively. After the 2002 WC, 4th place medals were also presented, to the crew for the Cup's hosts, South Korea.

Chi siamo

Ergoproject Plus è una società che si occupa di disabilità e tecnologie, di formazione aziendale finanziata e offre consulenze nell'ambito della sicurezza sul lavoro,
applicando a tutte le sue aree di competenza un approccio ergonomico centrato sull’utente.


Ergoproject Plus Srl
Via Andrea Barbazza 118
00168, Roma
P.IVA – C.F. 14724611000
C.S.I.V. 10.000


Tel/Fax 06.64467005

Certificazione ISO

BV Certification

Certificazione di qualità ISO 9001:2008,
settori EA di attività 35 e 37

Questo sito fa uso di cookie per migliorare l’esperienza di navigazione degli utenti e per raccogliere informazioni sull’utilizzo del sito stesso. Proseguendo nella navigazione si accetta l’uso dei cookie; in caso contrario è possibile abbandonare il sito.